Mission Breakout

This trip was very much a mission to breakout from my stressful daily routine. Get up, try to ease into the day with some yoga, eat my usual banana ice cream for breakfast, and then fling myself head on into my chaotic job where we’re either all shouting at each other or escaping into back rooms to try to breathe for at least a second.
I had missed going to Disneyland in May and my annual pass was starting to gather dust, so I booked a hotel, packed a bag, and go on a plane. Before I knew it was dripping in sweat (Washingtonians are not used to that big yellow thing in the sky. Especially not after the winter we had this year) but standing in front of the new Guardians of the Galaxy: Mission Breakout ride that took over the Tower of Terror.

IMG_4975
I’d been pretty upset they were getting rid of the ToT for this new ride but decided to give it a chance.
A chance was all it took.
I rode that thing 5 times, and each time was different than the one before. Seriously, there are different audio, video, and drop sequences. And it is beautiful. Being the emotional nerd that I am, I had my hands over my mouth and dare I say a tear or two in my eyes as I screamed on the first go around.
Surprisngly, the longest I waited out of all 5 times was only about 55 minutes. Radiator Springs Racers still has a longer line.
I should know better by now than to doubt Disney to create amazing things. They have this unmatchable ability to completely immerse you into a new world by covering every single detail, including the ones you didn’t even think they would cover and probably won’t even notice (like the smells they pump out on Main Street). And I am impressed by how far technology has taken us. The video screens in the queue for the pre ride shows were CRYSTAL CLEAR and CRISP which usually unnerves me (especially when the TV shows on these fancy screens are from years before those screens were even invented) but it works for the fictional world in which the Guardians live.
True to the GotG vibe, you launch immediately into the ride instead of the slow, suspense and fear building pace that ToT took, with immediate drops and of course 80s music.

IMG_4992
I spent my weekend mostly in Hollywoodland. With the Season of the Force over in Disneyland and new Marvel things setting up shop there it was the perfect getaway. While I love escaping into the world of yesterday, tomorrow, and fantasy, I needed a more heroic escape this weekend to a world where I could pretend that everything bad happening could be fixed by a bunch of hot people in spandex with large muscles, great catchphrases, and witty banter. And I got to meet Black Widow so it was a good weekend.
Unfortunately all good things must come to an end so here I sit, on the airplane home, where I’ve just been informed that we’ll be touching down shortly. I hope I brought some of the sun and heat back with me.
Until next time

Leave a Reply

