Getting (Veg)ucated

Vegucated is one of my favorite vegan documentaries because it informs you while also taking you on a journey with real people making the transition to veganism for the first time. Well, they are kind of just thrown into it and it’s a challenge to be vegan for a period of time, but you still get non-vegan people with all of the common perceptions and biases about veganism and watch them change. It’s just very real which I think makes the concept of veganism more approachable and appealing.

I’d watched all of those vegan documentaries on YouTube prior to fully making my vegan transition back in August/September of last year, but I decided to watch Vegucated again the other day.

I ended up in a ball on the floor sobbing and squishing my cat to my chest which I think she appreciated for, like, a second. She purred a little bit. That kinda cheered me up.

Would I love for everyone in the world to go vegan? Yes. Do I expect that to happen? No. There are a lot of people who are ok not knowing about what happens to other lives and that’s fine. We all have the right to be as informed or as ignorant as we want. And some people in certain countries just cannot do it. But in America where we have a choice, I think that’s the one we should be making.

I am incredibly poor. Not the poorest, but I do struggle to pay my bills, especially with an asthmatic cat who needs expensive cat inhalers. But I still manage to maintain a vegan diet. I eat oatmeal, lots of bananas, green salads, and sweet potatoes and frozen veggies. I buy my own groceries and spend probably $10-20 per trip per week as long as I’m not buying like makeup or socks along with that.

Basically, go check out www.getvegucated.com and any other vegan information your little fingers can google and if you decide that it’s something you’re interested in, go for it. If not, keep researching, because the combination of animal and human lives we could save by not eating animal products is too great to ignore.

Leave a Reply

