Being Positive

Lately I’ve been trying to be more positive in life. It’s hard because being a grown up is quite stressful and it doesn’t help when you throw a couple of disorders on top of that, but I am tired of using those as excuses to be a lump on my grey couch staring at my ceiling. Yes, sometimes it does get overwhelming, but I know that I am not going to get better or enjoy my life if I keep giving in. If I actively seek the positive and do things to make me feel better, I’ll feel better and also hopefully create a halo effect and make others around me feel better.

We don’t realize how much we can impact others around us. Smiles can turn days around. Kind words can make all the difference.

I don’t want to get too sappy here, but it’s true. It is so important to spread positivity and kindness. Life is not always the best. In fact, it usually sucks. Your alarm didn’t go off so you had to rush to work. Traffic was awful. A customer or your boss yelled at you. Your computer crashed and you lost an entire day’s worth of work. Then you got home and your favorite TV show took a break this week so you don’t get a new episode. You burned dinner. You couldn’t fall asleep. All these little things can make your entire day awful, but only if you let it. Like I said, those are little things. I definitely can have little things build up and then have one more happen and it feels like the entire world is crashing around me because it was just the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Sometimes I just need to step back and remember the important things in life, or even just things that make me happy. Life is too short to spend it sad and angry or any other negative emotion. I know it’s not realistic to be happy all the time, but the more often we can be positive, the better we will be and the more we can enjoy our time in this life. I think positivity is like a muscle, you have to use it a lot to strengthen it so it can be used more often.

Leave a Reply

