Treat Yo Self

After a fun Valentine’s Day, I passed out in my bed for a few hours only to wake up before dawn, go to the gym, and then go to work. Thank goodness I work in a coffee shop because I was exhausted.

And then my best friend brought me doughnuts from Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland because she spent the weekend down there.

tumblr_o2mg7meNRY1rnh8puo1_1280

I’ve been having a hard time lately with my body image, so I found a post I wrote on my tumblr in a moment of clarity and good body image.

It’s just not in my genetics for me to have a six pack without some ridiculously intense dieting. And I’m not about to do that. With my past history with anorexia it just wouldn’t be smart for me to diet down to something as superficial as a lot of ab definition. All that being said, I still want to inspire people on their fitness journey. I’ve got a lot working against me. I don’t fit the media’s portrayal of fit people. I’m short. I carry some extra fat. I’m a Hispanic woman. I’m not gonna be on the cover of a magazine in leggings and a sports bra with a million watt smile. If anything one day I’ll be on the cover of a magazine wearing baggy running shorts and a hoodie holding a vegan donut covered in crushed Oreos. I’m gonna tell you to go after your dreams. I’m gonna give you support and tips but I’m not gonna look like some unattainable goal because that goal is unattainable for me and that’s ok. What matters in the long run is that we are all healthy and happy.

This is just a part of it.

It’s important to remember that you are not a fitness model on Instagram and that it’s important to treat yourself once in a while. You are you. Strive to be the best you. And remember that you are awesome and you deserve a treat once in a while.

 

One thought on “Treat Yo Self

Leave a Reply

