2016 Resolutions

I guess 6 days into 2016 I can write about my resolutions.

I’ve decided that my recovery doctors didn’t know shit. I knew that already. That’s why I stopped seeing them before I was actually discharged. That’s why I didn’t listen to my dietician who called me fat. And that’s why their weight goal is just as meaningless as everything else they ever told me.

I don’t need to be 110-120 pounds. I’m 5’2 (a few other doctors have told me I’m 5’3 so I don’t know who to believe). I don’t need to weigh that much.

So, resolution #1: lose weight

I’m joining everyone else in the world with that one.

Resolution #2: lose the weight healthily

So far I’ve lost 3 pounds since I last weighed myself in early December, so somehow I lost weight with the move and Christmas season. Since I am now unemployed I have the time to workout for multiple hours a day. On Monday I did both an hour of Pop Pilates and a Crush booty workout. I missed yesterday and today, but that’s my goal for the next few weeks: to do Crush and Pop Pilates at the same time.

I am obviously keeping active, the eating is a struggle. Being unemployed means no money for food so I can eat as much as I can afford, but not necessarily as much as I need. I’m hoping that can change soon, but the job hunt isn’t going too well. I can’t even remember most of the places I’ve applied to anymore.

 

Resolution #3: try to be more positive

I have control over my life. I have control over how I feel. Yes, my current situation isn’t ideal, but when I look at where I’ve been and where I could be it’s pretty good. And it’s not going to get better if I just mope around all the time. I need to make the choice daily to be positive; to be happy.

Resolution #4: chase my dreams

I’m done with college now. The rest of my life is stretched out in front of me. So I need to do what I want now. This is my life. I can do whatever I want with it, so I should do what I want with it.

I was asked on Christmas Day when I’m going to be having children. I’m 22. I just graduated college. Even if children were in my future, they sure as hell wouldn’t be happening any time soon. But since they are never happening, that means I can use every single year ahead of me for me. This sounds like I don’t have a deadline, so I’m making one. Starting this year and continuing every year after that I’m going to chase my dreams.

Maybe I’ll change my dreams a few times, and that’s ok. If I spend my life chasing my dreams and learning a bunch along the way I will die happy.

What is my current dream? Check back later and you’ll see. 😉

What are your resolutions for 2016?

6 thoughts on “2016 Resolutions

  1. Losing weight a healthy way is so important but it takes more than just exercise it takes a balanced diet as well. You say you want to be around 110lbs what are you at now ? What are some ways you are working twords loosing the weight you want to loose ?

    • I’m around 110 now, I’m aiming for 100, and I am vegan, so I make sure I fill up on veggies and fruits and plant based proteins when I can.

      • Do you just do the gym and stuff ? Have you ever heard of shakeology ? I do this program it’s called the 21 day fix extreme it has an eating plan workouts and the shakeology with it and they have it in a vegan choice. The shake is paled with vegan approved proteins and other essential vitamins

      • I’ve heard of it but haven’t gotten a chance to check it out yet. I follow a program called Crush60 which is awesome, and it came with a macro plan, plus I have my trainer at the gym I go to, but I’ll have to actually try Shakeology when i get a chance!

  2. Great resolutions, very similar to mine this year. It’s all about staying positive and just doing it.. Oh, and for the having kids at 22 – I’m 37 and still feel like I’m not ready to have kids… keeping a dog is tough enough.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

