Why I’m Not Your Weight Loss Guru

A huge part of the online fitness community comes from people wanting to know how to lose weight.

I get it. America is facing an obesity epidemic, and it seems like everyone and their mother would like to lose a pound or two, or ten.

While losing weight is great and very beneficial to your health, it’s not something I’m very good at.

Oh, sure, I know the basics: eat less than your daily caloric expenditure, exercise, drink lots of water, don’t eat less than your BMR, etc. But I also know everything not to do.

progresspicIn 2010 I was at my lowest weight and almost admitted to the hospital for the possibility of heart failure. Since then I’ve gained 26 pounds of combined muscle and fat, and it’s going to be almost impossible for me to lose those 26 pounds again. But I’m not worried about losing that weight.

There is so much more to health than weight loss. It’s being able to walk, run, lift what you want to lift, do what you want to do, go where you want to go and feel good. It’s about loving your body enough to take care of it so it can love you back and let you do everything you want to do.

I don’t have a miraculous weight loss story. My weight loss story could have turned into a tragic ending if it didn’t turn into a weight gain story. But I do have a story about my health journey. I’m not a weight loss guru, but I know what it means to be healthy, and to me that’s what matters.

IMG_8982

Leave a Reply

