Waiting for Summer

Another week has come and gone and I’m still waiting for summer. I’ve got my summer work schedule, I’ve got most of my summer planned out, but the only thing left is the actual time passing to get to summer.

I have 3 weeks of class left plus 1 week for finals and then I am done for the summer. I just enrolled in my final quarter of college and you would not believe how ready I am to graduate. If you read my old blog (writingandrecovering) you’ll find posts from a few weeks into my freshman year of college where I said I did not want to continue. This route is not for everyone, and I’m lucky I was able to avoid the vast amounts of debt most people graduate with, especially for someone who didn’t really want to get a 4-year degree. But I am glad I did it. It’s been fun. I’ve made a lot of good friends I would not have otherwise made. I’ve learned a lot.

In a few weeks I’ll have my graduation “ceremony” which will be a smaller ceremony for those of us who are part of the LGBTQA+ community. Since I’m not coming back here next spring to walk at the actual ceremony I figured I should do something small. We have to submit pictures of us over the years growing up and these are the ones I chose:

DSC03945

Baby Aja

ballofwintres

High school freshman formal

DSC04727

Visiting my future university

Aja&Brianna

high school graduation

equalparrty

christmas party 2014

All of the photos of me between baby and high school are kind of weird. Okay, I’ll include one here:

me and my grandma and her friends at a German culture convention in Canada

me and my grandparents and their friends at a German culture convention in Canada

That’s me in a traditional German dress. I forget the actual name.

It still hasn’t really hit me that I’m about to finish another chapter of my life. I’m just waiting for summer. I finished almost all my homework today so I can lie around this weekend moaning about how much longer I have until summer. When I’m not working out or eating anyway.

Do you have any summer plans? 

Leave a Reply

