Tortilla Pizza

Who doesn’t love pizza? It’s delicious. It’s amazing. And it can be really terrible for you.

pizza

But it is so good!!

After our treat day last weekend we knew we had to find a suitable replacement for pizza. So I did some googling and some thinking and came up with tortilla pizza!

IMG_1386

Your own personal pizza on a whole wheat tortilla. Packed with protein, fiber, and less sodium and weird chemicals than your average Dominos or Pizza Hut pizza. It was the perfect replacement.

First, I preheated the oven to about 400 degrees. I kept seeing different temps on different recipes so I picked one in the middle.

Then, I pulled out a cookie sheet and lined it with foil. A lot of other sites will tell you to use a cast iron skillet but I didn’t have one so I improvised and it worked great! If you do have one I hear it can make the tortilla crust crispier, but mine wasn’t soggy at all so I’m not worried.

Then, take as many tortillas as you want pizzas and put them on the surface you’re using. I used whole wheat tortillas.

IMG_1383

I spread about 1/4 cup of marinara sauce but found out I didn’t need that much. Probably about 1/8 cup will do if you are using average sized tortillas. Leave some space around the edge for the crust.

IMG_1384I put about half a cup of mozzarella cheese on each. I’m a cheese fiend, so you probably don’t need as much.

We’re both fairly vanilla when it comes to food so we just had cheese pizzas, but you could top yours with anything from here: pepperoni, bacon, olives, mushrooms, red and green peppers, turkey sausage, pineapple, the options are endless!

I baked them for 10 minutes and then took them out and let them cool another 10. For some reason this is a really important step for flavor. Letting them cool a few minutes makes them taste so much better than just eating them straight out of the oven.

Tortilla Pizzas

  • whole wheat tortillas
  • 1/8 C sauce for each tortilla
  • 1/4-1/2 C mozzarella cheese for each tortilla
  • various toppings of your choice
  1. preheat the oven to 400 degrees F

  2. top your tortillas with the 1/8 C sauce. Leave about half an inch around the edges for the crust.

  3. top with the 1/4-1/2 C cheese.

  4. add any extra toppings

  5. bake in the preheated oven for about 10 minutes or until you see the cheese start to bubble.

  6. remove and let cool another 5-10 minutes

  7. cut and serve!

The Actor absolutely loved them and he’s not big on the “healthy replacements” bandwagon just yet. We’re getting there. They are definitely a suitable replacement for pizza, and possible tastier since there isn’t a bunch of grease and carbs to weigh you down and tire you out. All the fun of pizza without the repercussions.

One thought on “Tortilla Pizza

  1. Ellie says:

    YUM! I’ve never made pizza out of tortillas because I always thought it would be hard to pick up. My favorite pizza bread is actually Naan. I spread hummus and other tasty things on it and eat it like a pizza. It’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

