Running is Fun!

Since Group Fitness classes ended for the quarter I’ve had time to run again for cardio. I had to put running on hold for a while because I am training to become a Zumba instructor at my gym. I am certified, but extremely shy as a person so I’m working on that. Dancing I have no problem with apparently. I’ll sometimes get compliments when I dance and am always surprised because I’ve never had an formal training. But anyway.

I went for a run this morning. Outside. I’d ran a couple of times last week on the treadmill at the gym. Just easy 30 minute 3 mile runs. But today I downloaded the RunKeeper app onto my phone, laced up my shoes and headed out the door.

IMG_1183

banana with peanut butter. the best snack

But not before eating a snack and drinking some water. I can’t work out on an empty stomach like some people. I get light headed and it’s just not a good idea.

IMG_1184 IMG_1185

About halfway through the run. It was really bright and sunny out. I was glad I put on sunscreen, but I still ended up with tan lines on my legs. Excuse my weird face. I couldn’t see the screen on my phone so I just snapped and kept running.

IMG_1186 IMG_1187 IMG_1188

About three quarters of the way in I found this awesome park with a pond and stream. I may like artificial heating and indoor plumbing, but I think nature is just so beautiful. This was probably the most energetic part of my run. I just let everything I saw give me energy. It was definitely a nice change from the gravel I’d been running on and staring at for about 25-30 minutes.

I did it! やった!

I did it! やった!

I think that for my first run outside in probably 3 years (I think I tried to run outside last spring break but ended up walking to a little play area and doing some strength work on the equipment instead of running) this was pretty successful. My face is all red but that’s ok. It does that when I work hard.

Screen Shot 2015-03-21 at 11.46.07 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-21 at 11.45.48 AMNot a bad pace for running outside, either. I’m really happy with it. And I’m also exhausted. I just ate my second breakfast and I’m already hungry again.

I am now on Spring Break, which means more outside runs, with some of them being in my home town. This is my last Spring Break as a student. I’m going to spend it eating, sleeping, running, practicing yoga, and hopefully choreographing a song or two for Zumba.

Do you run outside? Do you prefer the outdoors or the treadmill?

 

One thought on “Running is Fun!

  1. Ellie says:

    I prefer outside when it’s warm and nice. I have opted for the treadmill this winter because it’s dangerous to be outside in ice. I am really looking forward to being outside this spring!

Leave a Reply

