PB&J Overnight Oats

Since my recent obsession with overnight oats has taken off, I thought I’d experiment with some recipes of my own.

I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. When I was in recovery that’s pretty much all I ate. I figured, if I have to eat it might as well be something I like. When I started working in college and didn’t have time for lunch between work and class I would pack a pb&j sandwich in my backpack to eat while I ran to the other side of campus. And then, who doesn’t love to just grab a spoon and eat the peanut butter straight out of the jar?

So, I thought, why not try to make peanut butter and jelly overnight oats? Turns out, it’s delicious in oatmeal form, too.

What you need

  • 1/4 C nonfat vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1/4 C nonfat milk of choice (I use regular milk, but it would probably be fine with soy or almond)
  • 1-2 T peanut butter (would probably work with 1/4 C peanut flour, but I haven’t tried it. I used 2 tablespoons, so the nutrition facts below reflect that)
  • 1 T jelly of choice
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Cellucor’s whipped vanilla whey)
  • 1/2 C dry rolled oats

Mix them all together and refrigerate in a sealed container or jar for 4 hours or overnight. Grab a spoon in the morning and dig in!

IMG_1050

 

You could probably add some berries, peanuts, almonds, or even peanut butter chips to it if you wanted to get crazy.

Nutrition Facts

478 calories

20 g fat

52 g carbs

28 g protein

*using 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, cow’s milk, and protein powder. Any variations will give you different results

6 thoughts on “PB&J Overnight Oats

  1. It’s funny PB & Jelly is a staple breakfast/lunch/dinner (?) over there but hardly known over here.
    I’m not a fan of overnight oats but I’ve been meaning to try peanut butter & jelly oatmeal [stovetop] for-ev-er and given my just started quest to change up my breakfast that might be a next one.

    • It’s so weird to recognize cultural differences. You know they exist, but then when you’re like, wait, you don’t have Kinder chocolate in America?? Let me know if you ever try pb&j stovetop oatmeal.

  2. Ellie says:

    I eat peanut butter and jelly every.single.day. I kid you not I will never out grow that combination. I haven’t had oats in a while [I have pb&j sandwiches for breakfast] but have been looking for something warm to have for breakfast in this cold weather. This might be the answer! Thanks for posting! 🙂

    • You can definitely warm this up in the morning before eating. I don’t because I have a weird thing about warm oatmeal (I know, weird, right?) but it’s definitely an option!

Leave a Reply

