Thinking Out Loud #7: Fitness Career

Thinking-Out-Loud2

Thursdays are for thinking out loud!

Honestly, the thoughts in my head right now are just the songs I’m working on for my Zumba mock class so I can try to get a job at the gym as an instructor.

Me a few months after getting certified, red faced after a run.

Me a few months after getting certified, red faced after a run.

Last quarter I had two mock sessions for personal training. I spent all of September-December of 2013 studying the body and exercise and all that good stuff. I got my personal training certification and was like, yes! This is what I want to do.

Turns out it wasn’t.

Thinking back on it now I think, “of course it wasn’t. Why on earth would I think it was?”

Thinking back on it now I realize that getting that certification was the last bit of family crap that was embedded into my brain. Growing up I wanted to write. “That’s nice as a hobby, but you need a real job,” they told me. “You could be a physical therapist or a personal trainer. They make a lot of money and you can work anywhere you want.” I always told myself that would never happen, but then you grow up and realize that you kind of need those stupid pieces of paper to live. And I realized I hated my college, I hated the town, and I just overall hate the state I live in. I had a scare this week that I might not graduate at the end of the year and I legit just said fuck it, I’ll drop out then. I cannot stay here anymore.

why would you crush this little girl's dreams??

why would you crush this little girl’s dreams??

So I decided being a personal trainer would be a good thing because I need money and I could make a lot of it.

But I don’t like doing it. I got into fitness by, first, dancing for hours in my childhood bedroom, making up choreography and learning the dances to Lady Gaga, Britney Spears, and a few others from watching their music videos on YouTube over and over again. Second, I watched Blogilates, and even though her videos are online, I fell in love with the community that group fitness creates.

So, of course, Zumba now sounds like the obvious choice for me. I really think this is it. I think I could teach Zumba for the rest of my life and really have fun and be happy. That’s what really matters. You do need money to live, but you need to find something you love doing to get that money. I don’t intend to waste my life in a job I hate.

Maybe I do have “Baila Esta Cumbia” by the wonderful Selena stuck in my head, but that’s a good thing because I’ve finally figured out what I want do with the fitness career part of my life. I’m still going to write, and maybe it will be a hobby, but I’m okay with that, because I’m going to have so much fun teaching Zumba and getting paid to work out. 

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #7: Fitness Career

  1. Ellie says:

    Aw yea girl PREACH! I have not completed my undergrad degree [yet…who knows if it will happen] and am content with my life. I realized that having that degree or a “real job” does not constitute happiness or ever exist. Who says what is a real job? Shouldn’t our purpose also be our passion? If we do not love what we are doing, it’s not really worth it anyway.

Leave a Reply

