Christmas Survey

I keep seeing this floating around, and I miss blogging, and I feel better so I thought I would fill it out!

Egg Nog or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate. I used to like egg nog a lot but for the past few years something about the texture just grosses me out. If it’s an egg nog milkshake, however, then I will consider it. But we have this delicious peppermint hot chocolate mix that I never use enough of but is still delicious.

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

I don’t understand this question. Does anyone actually just place unwrapped gifts under the tree? We used to wrap the gifts and hide them until Christmas Eve and then put them under the tree before everyone wakes up, but this year since we aren’t spending Christmas at home I’ve been putting the gifts under the tree after wrapping them so we can enjoy the sight of gifts being under our tree before I have to bag them up and take them with us to our parents’.

My cat likes to sleep under the Christmas tree.

Coloured lights on tree/house or white?

Colored. White lights are boring. I do like the picturesque feel of them, but colored lights look prettier when you turn off all the lights and plug in the tree.

Do you hang mistletoe?

I don’t know anyone that actually does this unless it’s the movies, because it can be a good plot device when you’ve run out of ideas, but in reality it’s just kind of weird.

When do you hang your decorations up?

Around the end of November depending on our stress levels with school. Last year it was the beginning of November because after my mom’s episode in August and a terrible fall quarter we needed a little holiday spirit in our apartment to come home to.

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

Excluding dessert? I don’t really care for any holiday dishes. I guess if I had to chose it would be this stuff my mom makes that we creatively named “orange stuff” which is kind of like dessert but we serve it with dinner. Otherwise, I don’t care all that much for meat, and vegetables are always nice, rolls are good because, hey, who doesn’t like carbs, but I don’t really have a favorite.

Favourite holiday memory as a child?

It’s actually a memory of my brother. We were opening presents and he must have been 2 or 3 so I must have been 8 or 9 and he got this pack of slippers with leopards on them and a matching stuffed leopard plush doll. As soon as he saw it he told my mom she absolutely had to cut the leopard doll out of the package. He was so excited about it. She cut it out and he grabbed it and hugged it to him and immediately named it Tigery (he was 2, his lack of knowledge of cats can be forgiven). He carried that thing everywhere. We also both got Gameboy Advance SPs a few minutes later which was a huge deal in our house because video games were kind of demonized unless they were old Sega games or Tetris. He immediately announced after opening it that he was done opening presents and spent the rest of the day with his Tigery and gameboy and he was a very happy child.

What is on your Christmas wish-list?

I really want a Fitbit Surge. And lots of books.

Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve?

Not usually, but I think we will this year.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

multi-colored lights and lots of random and glittery ornaments.

Snow? Love it or dread it?

I actually dread it. When it starts snowing in town I cry. I’m just not a snow person.

Real tree or fake tree?

Fake, we put up the tree too early for a real one, and real ones are a hassle.

Do you remember your favorite gift?

My favorite gift was actually fairly recent. I searched my old blog trying to find a picture of it, but it happened longer ago than I thought and I wasn’t blogging much about my relationship with my then-boyfriend on that blog yet. It was Christmas of 2010 and my then-boyfriend now-husband gave me a promise ring. I had to stop wearing it recently because the prongs were breaking off but I love that thing.

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Everything

What is your favourite holiday dessert?

Cookies! But cookies are always my favorite dessert.

What is your favourite tradition?

Watching the Disney Christmas Parade somehow. Used to be on TV but now we don’t have TV so I had to watch it on YouTube last year.

What tops your tree?

A ridiculously glittery silvery star that gets glitter everywhere when you touch it.

Which do you prefer, giving or receiving?

I feel like this is a loaded question.

What is your favorite Christmas song?

I don’t know. Almost anything if it’s sung by the rat pack I suppose. Or Michael Buble.

Candy canes, yuck or yum?

Indifferent? I don’t eat them, but if they’re in a blizzard with chocolate pieces they’re delicious.

Favorite Christmas Movie?

Love, Actually

What do you leave for Santa?

I don’t think we ever actually left anything for Santa when I was growing up. I think my mom told me she would put out cookies and then didn’t because that’s a hassle.

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

Nope. Right now we are still bouncing around with Christmas and changing plans every year. I guess that’s a perk of having kids. You don’t have to bounce around anymore to parents and in-laws and whatnot.

Do you prefer to shop online or at the mall?

I actually like shopping in a mall, but we don’t have a mall so I have to shop online. I do like the convenience of shopping online, but I like the whole experience of shopping in a mall.

Christmas letter or Christmas card?

Cards. Letters are annoying. I don’t care what Jimmy did this year. Send a picture with “happy Christmas!” underneath and be happy.

I realized I’ve already filled out this survey a couple years ago on my old blog. Read it here.

Leave a Reply

