My Thanksgiving 2014

I had been looking forward to this break for about a month. I think my coworkers got tired of me giving them an update every day on how many days were left until break. As much as I love my normal routine, I was getting tired of classes and work and living in a town where the only place to shop is Fred Meyer. I was very much looking forward to driving back to our hometown and seeing family, a real movie theater and shopping mall, and of course my best friend.

We drove over after work on Tuesday and grabbed some food at Shari’s since it was about 10 pm when we got there so everywhere else was closed. We went right to sleep after and picked up my brother from high school on Wednesday and took him to see Catching Fire. It was really good. I don’t know if they needed to split it in half, but we shall see how part 2 goes. They did have enough to cover for part 1. I will probably put up a review on my movie review blog later. We ate at Panera afterward with my mom.

Thanksgiving was fun. We always spend it in Seattle with my aunt and uncle, which is about the only time I see them in a year, which is ridiculous because we live in the same state. I just hate driving through downtown Seattle.

The food was delicious and the company was good. I always enjoy being with them and we played Cards Against Humanity afterward before turning in for the night. My mom always makes pink pie, which is basically just jell-o and cool whip on a graham cracker crust, and then our creatively named “orange stuff” (colors and the thing seem to be our naming formula) which is orange jell-o and cool whip mixed together so it forms this jell-o/cool whip hybrid with pineapple and mandarin oranges in it. I think there’s tapioca pudding in it, too. None of it is healthy, but a fun little side dish to the green beans and mashed potatoes because of the difference in flavor. It’s like a palate refresher. I was really glad I only had to have 1 Thanksgiving this year. I was also really proud of myself for not overeating this year. I took just enough to enjoy the flavor, but not so much that I hated myself afterward. I think that increasing and really taking seriously my yoga practice in the last few months has helped me become more in-tune with my body and helped my eating habits. I’ve been able to cut out sweets and only eat a little bit when I do have them.

We saw The Theory of Everything on Friday with the in-laws. Friday night I got to see my best friend again and we got dinner at BJ’s and then we went bowling. Maybe that sounds lame but it was really a lot of fun. I suck at bowling, but being with my husband and my best friend made it super fun.

We saw Interstellar on Saturday and now I’m home doing laundry, cleaning the apartment, and trying to cram all of my homework into today. Then I’m going to spend 2-3 hours at the gym on the treadmill, at Zumba, and finally an hour of yin yoga. I missed the gym. I am so ready to go back to it. It was such a fun weekend. I miss it already. I only have 1 week of class left before finals, though, and then I’m on winter break until 2015. I am ready.

How was your Thanksgiving? What was the best thing you ate?

One thought on “My Thanksgiving 2014

Leave a Reply

