Shame-Free Saturday: Legs

This is an appropriate topic today because my legs are absolutely dying. I had an absolutely killer leg day on Tuesday followed by 45 minutes of squats and other leg dominant moves in Zumba Wednesday night, which was followed by two more days of yoga with lots of Warrior 1, 2, and 3 poses, but you don’t need to hear all of this. The point of this post is body and personality acceptance, focusing today on your legs!

I’m short, but my family always tells me how I have the long legs that run in that side of the family. Maybe they are long, maybe they’re normal, maybe they’re short. It doesn’t really matter because I love them. They’re not skinny. They’re somewhere between muscular and fat. It took me a really long time to learn to love my legs. They don’t have a thigh gap. They jiggle when I walk. But I walk. I can run even though I don’t like to. I can squat. I can lunge. I can deadlift. I can dance. I can flow in yoga and balance forever in Tree.

It’s not about how my legs look that matters. It’s about what I can do with them. It’s about what they do for me. I love seeing the muscles become more defined in them because of how they look but also because I know I worked hard for them and that it means I am getting stronger. It means I’ll be able to lift heavier and that all my work is paying off. It means my legs are working.

They’re not stick thin. And that is perfectly okay because I am so thankful for everything they do for me. Love your legs not for their appearance, but for their ability. And if you love your legs’ appearance too then that’s all the more love for your legs and that’s great! Love your legs. Love your body. Love you.

Leave a Reply

