Disneyland August 25-27

It had been almost 2 years since I was last at the Disneyland Resort, which is 2 years too many for me. 🙂 We flew down Sunday night and had dinner at the Earl of Sandwich in Downtown Disney. I got the chicken bacon avocado wrap, which I thought was really good, and my mom was very excited about her BLT. I guess she ate a meal there every day after that. My husband and I were more excited about the food in the parks, but it was still really good. 

We went to DCA on Monday because my husband had never seen Cars Land. We got engaged in Disneyland about 2 days before the grand opening of DCA 2.0. The line for RSR was maybe 20 minutes, 30 minutes tops, so not too bad for a ride that still has long wait times. 

DSCN0937 DSCN0939 DSCN0946

Afterward we rode Tower of Terror and a bunch of other rides in DCA before going over to Disneyland. The longest wait in the entire trip was for RSR on Monday morning. After that we never waited more than 15 minutes for a ride. The line for Splash Mountain said 25 minutes, but the line plus the ride took a total of 24 minutes, and the ride itself is at least 10. 

DSCN0949 DSCN0954

We ate lunch at the Blue Bayou Restaurant, the one inside the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. It was so pretty and the food was delicious. In my opinion, it was totally worth the price. Because you’re not just paying for food. You’re paying for delicious food in a whole other world. It’s an experience. It’s a show. It’s delicious and worth it. 

DSCN0956 DSCN0957

A picture at the spot at the hub in front of the castle where we got engaged. 

 

 

 

DSCN0967 DSCN0968 DSCN0969 DSCN0972 DSCN0976 DSCN0978

 

We ended the night with the Magical fireworks show and then walked to our shuttle to take us back to our hotel. I don’t really like not staying on property, but it was a nice hotel so it wasn’t too bad. Plus after a week of taking shuttles to and from in Walt Disney World, I was kind of used to it. 

DSCN0989 DSCN0990 DSCN0992 DSCN0995 DSCN0997 DSCN1001

Our last full day was spent riding twice the amount of rides we would normally go on during the busy season (seriously, end of August/start of September is one of the best times to go crowd wise), watching performances at the Mad T Party, and seeing the World of Color. I was really rather impressed with the Mad T Party. I had really enjoyed ElecTronica when it was running and kind of miss it, but Mad T Party is really fun, too. There was this old guy there with a bottle of Coke (I seriously doubt it was actually Coke) just rocking out. He was bouncing and kind of dancing and singing along. I’m pretty sure he goes every night to see this show. But the band was amazing, and I loved the dance team. And World of Color is always amazing. I did cry pretty intensely during the Genie part, though. 

Our last day on Wednesday was only a half day and we had to be out by 2. Surprisingly in that time we got on 9 rides, which is one more than the average for an entire day (8 am – 12 am) during the busy season. I guess a lot of local schools started that Tuesday and Wednesday so not a lot of people were taking trips to Disneyland. Not pass holders anyway. There were plenty of European and Japanese tourists having fun. We rode Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride, which broke down halfway through and we had to walk through the rest of the ride with all the lights on to get out. It was actually really cool. I’ve always wanted to do that. 

It was a really fun trip, and I am sad that it is over already. 2 and 1/2 days in the parks just isn’t enough. But, seeing as we’re planning on moving down to SoCal in 2016 we’ll probably get a lot more time there after that. 

3 thoughts on “Disneyland August 25-27

Leave a Reply

