Summer Time!

What time is it? Summer time! It’s… not vacation yet. Sadly. I’ve got 2 months until Disneyland, and 6 weeks of summer session classes ahead of me. I did the depressing task of buying my text books yesterday. It’s one of the few times when I feel like professors are pure evil. Some are nice, like one I had last quarter who instead of having us buy a bunch of books, took all the excerpts he wanted us to read and put them in a $20 packet. Others are, pretty sure, plain evil. One of my books was $80 rented used. So you don’t even want to know how much it would have cost to rent a new one or to buy a new or used one. Yuck.

But enough of that. Last week was the end of Spring Quarter 2014. I have one more of those left before I graduate (hopefully). It was also graduation season and I know like 50 people who graduated. Two were cousins, one was my brother-in-law, and my little brother, Maxlemore as he would like to be called, “graduated” from middle school last Friday. I am so proud of him. This year was definitely not easy. His dad moved away a month before it started, then our mom nearly died and was still in fairly poor condition when he started school. The district he is in changes the grading system every year and the teachers have to learn new things to teach and how to grade every year so most of the time he didn’t know if he was passing or failing. It’s also middle school so there is just tons of drama with that. It was the second year without me at home, but I came to visit even less than the year before because being married and living off campus is a lot harder than being single and in a freshman dorm. He is also pretty much the male version of me so there are all those underlying disorders I can see the signs of, but he survived and I’m very proud of him.

013078f64727f70a3cc9924ae70c7438c6d56d5f840199c1b9f758f45521b2059ea4f11fab5a7860abee

I chopped off all my hair last week. I love how short it is, and even would like it a little shorter. Bringing back a classic: the flapper bob! Seriously, I kinda want it shorter. But I love it. I think I’m going to keep it short for the rest of my time in college just because long hair in the town I live in is just too much to handle with the dry air and the 30 mph daily wind. I grew it out for the wedding, but that was a year ago so it was time for a change.

My brother’s ceremony was on Friday, and it took forever, but it was in the gym of my old middle school. In the beginning they asked all Brave alumni to stand and it was so weird to think that, wow, yeah, I’m an alum. I don’t think I’ve actually been in a building there since I “graduated” from it back in 2008. That is crazy.

Then we had my brother-in-law’s high school graduation Saturday night and that was weird, too, because the last time I was at a graduation for that high school it was my graduation. And I’ll be back there in 4 years for Maxlemore’s. (he has no idea what he’s done picking that as his nickname).

01e425e7cee03824feb6473de879d8f512738c141d

I can’t seem to get the rest of my photos from my iPhone to sync up with my iCloud so I’ll leave you with this rough sketch I did for freshbakeddisney.com. I made it all fancy and sent it in to them yesterday. can’t wait to hear about it! If you don’t know who they are they are the best! “The best of Disney fresh baked daily,” so if you’re like me and call Disneyland your second (or even first) home, and just can’t go very long without it, these people are for you. They go to Disneyland every Saturday and put out 7-10 minute clips from their trip each day. It’s actually really addicting.  I did this doodle in class last quarter to try and stay awake. Try getting up before dawn to go to work and then having 5-6 hours of class right after. It’s exhausting. Anyway, I’ll put up the fully illustrated one maybe later. Probably not because if they decide to use it then it’s theirs and then I’ll just post the link here. I seriously feel so honored that they liked my sketch enough to ask me to clean it up so they could use it. I have always loved drawing, but to think that someone would actually like my drawings in the future is just… I never expected anyone to like them other than my family because they’re obligated to. It really just makes me so happy.

2 thoughts on “Summer Time!

  1. Your hair is perfect! I seriously love it. I haven’t had my hair short (above my shoulders) since I was in sixth grade but I love the short hair look on a lot of women. I’m actually trying to grow mine out again after I cut it just below the shoulders in March but it also sucks having long, wavy hair in this humidity.

    I hate professors that make you get so many textbooks, and then you never end up using them. Or when you have to spend so much on a bunch of books, and when you resell them, you get $5 back for each one and it’s a complete rip-off.

    • Thank you! I’m definitely going to keep it short for a while. It might be annoying to have to go get it cut often, but less annoying than trying to detangle it all the time.

      I hate book buybacks. I’ve seen websites where people upload books and stuff for free so I might have to look into that more. It’s such a rip-off. college is already ridiculously expensive. I got 25 cents for 2 books I sold back recently. Whoo…

Leave a Reply

