IUD Diva: 1 Week Check-In

So I’ve had this thing for a week now and I have to say that I am LOVING IT! Kinda beating myself up for not switching sooner, honestly, but that’s a segway into a whole other post for a whole other day. The lower hormone dose is great. When I started the Pill about three years ago I was to the point of tears at least once a day over pretty much nothing. Now I’ve been in a pretty great mood every day up until last night, but that was because of random computer issues. Apparently right before finals is a good time for the touch pad to stop working. Thank goodness for my external mouse. Anyway, yes, I have been in a much better mood for every day since then. The computer thing would have put me in a bad mood regardless of whether I was on the IUD or the pill.

I have had minor cramping over the last week, but I would take 1 ibuprofen and that would fix it for the rest of the day. I haven’t really felt any cramps today, though, and those cramps were so minor compared to what I normally get the first 2-3 days of my period. I could at least walk with these cramps.

I haven’t felt moody. I’ve been in a really good mood probably because I’ve been in a really down mood for the past 3 years and now I just feel awesome. Checking the string the first few days was annoying, because I’ll be honest, I didn’t know that part of my body very well. Now I do know and it takes seconds to find the strings. You don’t have to check them every day but I am still dealing with anxiety and it just makes me feel better to know they’re still there. I imagine after a month or two my anxiety will subside and I’ll check them once a month.

All in all I’ve had a fantastic experience with it. It only lasts three years and I hear the removal process isn’t fun, but I survived the insertion, so I think I’ll be ok. I’ll have to get another one, and I don’t know now if I’ll get another Skyla or get the Mirena, but I have a 3 year window between 27 and 30 that we can try to have kids if we are ready at that point, and since the Skyla only lasts 3 years, I’ll need another one because I’m at the age that I can start actually trying to have kids.

So, I definitely recommend it to anyone thinking about birth control options. I didn’t even have trouble remembering to take the pill, I just wanted a change and getting the pill refills every month was always annoying. Don’t let the fear of insertion pain stop you. It’s literally like 2 minutes and then you’re done. And the IUD is really fantastic. Now, it’s not for everyone, but I have really bad periods which you would think would be a sign for me not to get one but I’m doing swell. I guess you just have to test it out, and if you do get one I hope your experience with it is as positive as mine. If you’re thinking of getting one feel free to ask me any questions you might have about the experience. I’m not an expert on the IUDs themselves, and the companies all have really informative websites you can look at for that stuff.

One thought on “IUD Diva: 1 Week Check-In

  1. I’m glad you’re seeing good results from the IUD! The insertion and removal process is what worries me the most, but it’s nice not having to refill a prescription every few months and having less pain and moodiness around that time. And dealing with fewer hormones is always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

