I am a Work of Art (part 1)

(this will be a multi-part series discussing how I’ve come to positively view and love my body, and things associated with this idea)

tumblr_mwhe41oLWl1rrx2x7o3_400

When I got my first tattoo back in November I was so excited! It was new, and it stung, but it was awesome. A couple years ago I never would have thought I’d get a tattoo. I thought they were stupid and that I would regret it later on. The truth was that I only thought that because I lived with my mom who thought that.

Needless to say she wasn’t happy when I told her I got my tattoo. I hadn’t told her, and wasn’t really ever planning on it, which was problematic considering it was on my wrist. She sent me an article about how “tattoos give you cancer” the day I ended up telling her about it, and I replied with an article about how air gives you cancer. I just really didn’t care and I was a little upset. Ever since she’s been telling me not to get too many, specifically using the phrase, “Don’t be like Miley Cyrus.”

Yes, because getting tattoos means I’ll be like Miley Cyrus. I wouldn’t be upset if I was. I love her, and I think she is great.

Well, now it’s February, and I’ve been planning more tattoos ever since they bandaged up my first one. I’ve filed my taxes and should be getting my return soon, and while the majority of that money will be going to a trip to Disneyland, some of it will be going toward a new tattoo.

I don’t view tattoos the way I used to since moving out and being able to follow my own mind instead of my mother’s. I also don’t think that there needs to be a message, or deep and meaningful point behind every tattoo. If you like that enough to get it on your body then go for it! It is your body. And this is my body. I take care of it. It’s strong and thriving and I am my own canvas.

letitgotattoo copy

One of these designs is going to be my next one on my right forearm, and I’m going to amend it to just say, “Let it go. That perfect girl is gone. Let the storm rage on.” Because the light of day is irrelevant and the cold is currently bothering me very much. I’m thinking either the 2nd or 3rd design. Which do you like better?

I am so glad that I’ve come to this point in my life where I can accept my body and who I am. I never thought I would be here.

3 thoughts on “I am a Work of Art (part 1)

  1. I like the second and fourth styles 🙂 and I LOVE the quote! I also love seeing you grow and develop your own ideas and mind and living according to what is right for you!! Journey on, lovely! Life has only just begun. xo.

    • Thanks. That’s my favorite. But now I’m not sure if I’ll get that next or the Deathly Hallows symbol with “expecto patronum” underneath it. It’s a tough decision. I could get them both at the same time…

Leave a Reply

