New Year’s Resolutions 2013

I’m not usually one to make resolutions, but for some reason this year I’d made some.

2013Number 1: Exercise 5-6 days a week for 60 minutes. I did a pretty good job with this one, but after a few months I realized that you can have really effective workouts without working for 60 minutes. I started exercising 4 days a week for 30-60 minutes and had better results than before. I wasn’t burning out. I was lifting heavy, allowing myself to rest, and working at a higher intensity because I had a shorter period of time to work out. You’ve got to make every second count no matter how much time you have. I wouldn’t say I failed, I just got more educated and experienced.

Number 2: eat  more veggies. This became really easy once we got our apartment. I would eat basically just veggie wraps when I lived on campus, but living off has made it easier to try new things. I have a green monster smoothie for breakfast (banana and spinach and whatever else I throw in there) and we try to have a vegetable with every dinner.

Number 3: Drink more water. I really don’t know why I put this in here because I drink an insane amount of water every day. 

Number 4: focus on weight training 2-3 days a week. This is pretty much all I do now along with HIIT and Pylo, and I’m trying to do more yoga. I think I finally found a program I enjoy. I’m more of a fast paced person. I can’t just do a slow yoga flow.

Number 5: stop wishing I could look like someone else and focus on what I could become. Did it. I’ve stopped looking at fitspo and wishing I could look like that. I look at it because it comes up on my tumblr dashboard, but that’s it.

Number 6: have a kick ass wedding and start a great marriage. I think I did this pretty well. I loved our wedding. It couldn’t have gone any better. And our marriage has yet to hit any rough spots that have to do with us. When my mom was in the hospital it was kind of tough, but that wasn’t anything we could really do anything about.

Number 7: focus on becoming the best person I can be. That has been my focus, yes. I can always improve, and that’s what’s important.

Number 8: Keep a positive body image. I did this fairly well. With my ED and depression and anxiety and body dysmorphic disorder (long list of disorders) it definitely hasn’t been easy, but it’s pretty cool to realize that I’ve done fairly well with it. I don’t have as much negative talk lately. There were some times throughout the year when it was bad, but the majority of the time was really good, and I’m happy about that.

I don’t know if I’m going to make any resolutions this year. Probably not. I kinda forgot that I’d made these and they’re just not that important to me. Happy New Year’s Eve everyone! Have an awesome celebration tonight. I cannot wait until tomorrow. Sherlock! If you haven’t seen the show yet it’s on Netflix. Go watch it right now. I mean it.

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2013

  1. I’m not really one to make resolutions either. I’ve tried them in the past, and I usually forget them or realize that they’re not very realistic. I think if I had to make one resolution, I’d do number 5 on your list. Comparing myself to others is something I do way too much of and it’s such a waste of time and never makes me happy, so it’s something I want to cut out of my life as much as possible this year.

    • I made that decision a year ago and it’s so weird to think now that there was a time when I had to consciously make myself not compare myself with others. I don’t do it physically anymore, but definitely with life achievements. We just watched through all of the Star Wars films and I kinda flipped out when we realized that Natalie Portman was 18 when Star Wars 1 came out in 1999 and Keira Knightly was like 14. What?? And I’m over here just in college while they and countless other people my age are actually in their career fields. Not that I’m not doing nothing, it’s just like, wow. So I need to work on that part this year, but it really is a good thing to do; not compare yourself to others. Just hard.

  2. Great goals you’ve set for yourself! I particularly like #5– it’s so important to start accepting yourself for who you are and the fact that everyone’s bodies are different. One girl’s 6 pack may not look like another’s just because of how their muscles are positioned in their bodies. Good luck!! Happy new year!

  3. Happiest of New Years to you. Reading about you “kinda flipping out” over Knightly’s and Portman’s achievements at their young ages reminded me of a Buddhist saying, “You are exactly where you are suppose to be.” It’s a rather annoying Koan, but being someone who has been my biggest enemy concerning anything about comparison, it has been a handy (albeit irritating) reminder.

Leave a Reply

