Is There a Single Cause of AN?

Here is my opinion on what causes Anorexia Nervosa. Since there is barely any evidence as to a single cause, and limited studies are ongoing, we don’t really know what causes it, but I have always believed that it is caused by a genetic mutation. A recent study (and this isn’t the first article I read, but it’s all I could find in a quick search) showed that it is linked to a genetic mutation. Something about the body not being able to read something right. I can’t remember the specifics and the article I linked doesn’t have all the information that the other one had. But I completely agree with this study. I just do not think that social media and peer pressure can cause an eating disorder.

Disordered eating, maybe, but not a full blown ED. Maybe it can help push the development, but everyone is exposed to the same media. Everyone sees the same pictures. Everyone reads the same articles. We know what the media thinks a person should look like, and we know what we actually look like.

tumblr_mvfrzt5iKN1s2yegdo1_400

So why would only some people develop eating disorders and not others? If the media and social pressure was the cause then everyone would have an eating disorder. No, it’s psychological. It’s a genetic issue. Those things probably do not help, but they are not the cause. Eating disorders aren’t new. Long before the internet and photoshop people got eating disorders. It’s a genetic thing.

Anyway, that’s what I believe. That’s what makes sense in my head.

EDIT: I also just joined this! I want to more seriously try to lower my body fat percentage, so I’ll be running/walking three times a week and doing HIIT three times a week, so my mileage goal isn’t very big. Doing this instead of NaNoWriMo. http://runeatrepeat.com/2013/10/29/pile-on-the-miles-20135th-annual-challenge/

5 thoughts on “Is There a Single Cause of AN?

  1. This is a very interesting topic and one that baffles me as well. I will never understand why people harm themselves and their health for such superficial reasons. This goes for many more things, like drug use, as well. But you’re right, I don’t think it’s the media’s fault. Sure, it doesn’t help, but that’s just the way the world is.

    xo Megan, LushtoBlush.com

    • Well with eating disorders that’s just how the brain works, and it’s not really superficial. But for people who go on crazy diets that’s just stupid.

  2. I’ve always been really curious about this, and I’ve heard lots of things about how it’s linked to genetics and is often passed down through families, but I don’t know of anyone else in my family who’s struggled with an ED, so this explanation makes a lot more sense to me.

    • The genetic mutation? I know that my mom abused laxatives when she was younger, though I don’t know if she ever thought it could have been an ED. I just don’t think that the media is the sole cause of one, but apparently that’s still being debated and studied.

Leave a Reply

