Total Body Fat

College starts on Wednesday, but I’ve been learning all kinds of stuff these past two months. All health related of course. I recently learned about body fat and how the body stores it and gets rid of it.

It is pretty much common knowledge among the fitness community that there are bad fats and good fats, and this is true. Some fats are used to keep our heart pumping and our lungs and liver working, along with pretty much all of our other organs. This is the essential fat your body stores, which is the fat you need to function. This is why when I lost so much weight in my ED my body started to shut down. There are two more levels of body fat your body uses, but other than the essential fat, the rest is just stored in the adipose tissue on your body. The bad fats in food usually end up around here because it’s probably made of chemicals, and it’s already structured to be fat.

Something I see frequently on the internet, and just in the naive part of the fitness community is women complaining about their “belly pooch” and wanting to get rid of it. While there probably is some good amount of fat around the stomach around because a lot of people store their fat there, that pooch exists mainly because women carry essential fat around this area for reproduction purposes. Without that it would be hard to carry a child. So, even if you’re not trying to get pregnant, don’t be upset because you can’t get rid of that “belly pooch” because it is supposed to be there. Women are just built that way. Men, you might need to work on that. You have no excuse. 😉

3 thoughts on “Total Body Fat

  1. This makes so much sense to me, and I wish more women wouldn’t be so obsessed about having 6 pack abs and freaking out when they don’t have them. Then again, I always get stressed when my stomach sticks out more than usual after meals, but I have to remind myself that our stomachs are meant to expand after eating, and even if my stomach isn’t perfectly flat, it’s normal because that’s where our bodies are supposed to store essential fat.

Leave a Reply

