Stop the Shaming!

I think we all agree that there are people out there that are terrible because they will say things to overweight and obese people about how they need to go on a diet and stuff. We can agree that these people are terrible, inconsiderate people. But why don’t we say the same thing about the people that say, “I just want to feed them a sandwich! They need to eat something! I wish they would just eat.”?

tumblr_mqib7g3N5g1sqhkb3o1_500

Chances are the skinny people are healthier than the overweight/obese people, but that doesn’t give either party the right make comments like that. The ultimate goal should be health, and some people are healthy carrying a little more fat than you would expect. I have about a 25% body fat percentage but I am healthy. There is no “one size fits all” thing. dieting

No one has the right to call someone fat or skinny. No one has the right to tell someone to diet and no one has the right to tell someone to eat. Not to someone’s face, and not about someone behind their back either. Some people are skinny because they take care of themselves. Some people appear overweight but they also take care of themselves. Some people are skinny because they have crazy metabolisms or a health condition. Some people are overweight because they have terrible metabolisms or a health condition. There is no reason for anyone to say anything to anyone about their weight. Sometimes you can just tell that someone is overweight because they take poor care of themselves. You can also tell that someone is skinny because they take good care of themselves. I care about people’s health. I want people to take care of themselves, but I also realize that it is their life and I have no right butting in and telling them how to eat and exercise and live unless they ask me to. I can put up posts here about how important it is to take care of yourself and all that, but I can’t make anyone. And it would be wrong of me to make a terrible comment about it about someone.

Stop the shaming and just focus on health. Focus on being healthy and taking care of yourself. Not anyone else (though it is acceptable to worry about your family), just you. You don’t need to worry about that girl on facebook or your coworker. Stop making comments about someone’s weight and what they need to eat or not eat, because if it’s okay to tell someone they need to eat a sandwich, I should be allowed to tell someone to stop eating that sandwich.

6 thoughts on “Stop the Shaming!

  1. Jane says:

    The girl in the picture doesn’t even look unhealthy, I think she has some pretty healthy looking muscle tone going on, but that’s a slight digression from the original point 🙂

    It’s true that we shouldn’t make comments about people’s weight/ size in a negative way, after all, what’s that supposed to achieve? Is making people feel bad about themselves really going to make a massive difference?

    ‘No one has the right to tell someone to diet and no one has the right to tell someone to eat. Not to someone’s face, and not about someone behind their back either.’

    Just love that!

  2. This made me so sad to see how people can be. It’s unfortunate how our society is. People used to tell me I was overweight, and then when I lost the weight, people started calling me “a skinny b***h.” I wish everyone could just love each other regardless, and focus on their own personal journey.

Leave a Reply

