Keep it Positive

Something that I still find very difficult is staying positive about my body. I should have added that to my resolution list:

 2013 copy

So here it is:

2013

Although, I guess the last two kind of go together, but I think it’s important to have that up there anyway. While I’ve been trying to eat better and kick the sugar habit I do sometimes have cravings for something sweet that isn’t fruit. So today after my lunch plans were dashed for reasons I won’t get into because it irritates me and let’s just say that getting an apartment in June can’t come fast enough, I had tomato soup and an ice cream sandwich. An ice cream sandwich probably wasn’t the best option but I went for it. Plus today seems to be shaping up into a rest day because my roomie is sick and sleeping and it’s like 20 degrees outside so I do not want to be walking to the gym in that. I did just do some back work for a whole song and will probably do little stuff like that over the next hour or so but nothing like an entire hour. Which honestly really bothers me. Even when I exercise now I get mad that I eat something sugary.

I went into this year wanting to tone up a lot but then I see pictures like this:

tumblr_mgr20kviL31r4nw4po1_500tumblr_mgufocuT0M1r7jct4o1_500

tumblr_mguletSeDE1s2y779o1_500

And I’m like, do I really want to look like that? Not because it’s bad or anything because having muscles is freaking awesome and good for you but I mean do I really want to obsess over looking like that? Do I really want to freak out and totally lose my sh*t every time I eat some ice cream or chocolate? Do I want to be back here where I worry about what my body looks like all the damn time? No. I don’t need a six pack. I don’t need to be ripped. In fact, where I am right now it pretty good. Does that mean I should just sit and not worry? No. I want to exercise and eat right so I can have a healthy body and live a healthy life, not so I can look good and be reblogged on Tumblr and repinned on Pinterest. Not that that wouldn’t be awesome, but that’s not my goal. I’m going to work out and eat right so that I am healthy and I need to focus on that.

My body is beautiful and it is amazing all that it can do. It gets me to and from work every day in 5 minutes or less and I can race up 4 flights of stairs without breaking a sweat. I can do an hour of pilates every day and run 3-4 miles in 20-40 minutes depending on how I feel that day, which is great because I don’t run very often especially now that it’s below freezing 24/7. My body can do incredible things and that is great. It doesn’t have to have six-pack abs or ridiculous muscles. I just need to focus on taking care of my body so that it can keep doing all this amazing stuff. I love it, and it’s mine.

as of Nov. 2012. I mean come on, for someone recovering from an eating disorder this is pretty awesome.

I’ve been doing Cassey Ho’s Pop Pilates DVD which I have been waiting 2 years for. FINALLY here! Seriously, Cassey Ho and her Blogilates videos got me through the first tough leg of my recovery and I’ve been hooked ever since. This particular routine is kicking my butt, too. I can get through it without modifications or stopping but I gotta say I’m pretty sore today. She’s awesome. Her workouts are great and she’s so inspiring. I seriously want to be her. She’s so positive and she’s a pilates instructor/professional blogger. Can you say dream job? Um, yes!

So from now on I am going to focus on keeping a positive view on my body and taking care of it. I mean seriously, it isn’t ripped but I think it looks pretty good. And it’s only going to get stronger the more I do for it and that’s all that I can really ask for. Just love your body because it truly is amazing. Even if it isn’t at your goal weight or look exactly like you want it to (which was another one of my resolutions: stop trying to look like someone else) still consider all of the amazing things it does for you and just take care of it. We only have one body and one life and we are right here, right now. Isn’t loving ourselves and taking care of ourselves the best thing we can do? And a rest day does count as taking care of ourselves. Just love yourself and love your body and live each day to the fullest. Ew, cliché, but whatever.

8 thoughts on “Keep it Positive

  1. Aja,just so you know… I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!
    This post is so awesome,so inspiring,so beautiful it completely made my day. THANK YOU for being the awesome person you are,THANK YOU for NOT supporting that fitspiration-thing as much as so many others,and THANK YOU for making me smile today. You’re amazing,that’s the truth. 🙂
    And P.S.: Cassey’s blogilates workouts are my absolute favorite! 😀

  2. Juliet says:

    I’m so proud of you. I’m just a random reader. I have no idea how to express how grateful I am for your this post….I’m in the process of learning how to accept my body for what it is more. I’m 20 this coming April by the way, and used to be a competitive swimmer until I had to move country, and study in a boarding school, which does nto offer swimming as a competitive sport…hence my lifestyle change. I’m still working out how much and how long should I train to maintain a level of fitness and athleticness, cos i really want to go back to competitive swimming in University. Nevertheless, I need to focus on studies too, hence, I’m still trying to find the balance between work and try not to “over workout”.
    Loving your post, great job!

Leave a Reply

