Thanksgiving Break

After sitting through my last class of the day on Tuesday we loaded up the car and got on the road to drive home. As soon as we got to my house my brother just had to put up the Christmas tree. We always put it up the day before Thanksgiving but he couldn’t wait any longer. The Actor put up the lights, as is his job, and my mom can’t stop raving about how good it looks. Apparently we’re going to have to come back every year so that he can put the lights up.

 

My cat was very excited to see the both of us.

More importantly though, the Christmas tree. She just loves sleeping under it. She’s been an indoor cat all her life so I don’t think she would know a real tree if she saw one but she certainly likes being under our artificial one. When she was a kitten she would try to climb it. She never knocked it over but she did break a few ornaments.

It was really nice being home again. It’s nice with all our decorations up, too. I liked getting to sleep in my own bed in a room by myself. Even though it’s been cold in the house and I have to sleep with 5 blankets I like it. I missed having the weight of so many blankets on top of me. It’s nice. It’s home. The house is crummy and falling apart but I’ve spent the majority of my time in it. It’s home even if it’s cold and broken down. I don’t want to leave it today. I don’t want to go back to college, even though I love it and it’s only for two weeks. I have too many papers to write and finals to prepare for and I don’t want to do any of it. This break really got me out of the work mode.

Thanksgiving day was fun and different. My mom and I made all the food and the Actor came over to celebrate with us. It was weird sitting at our dining room table since we don’t actually eat there ever and since we usually spend Thanksgiving at my uncle’s. Everything was delicious, though. We had our orange stuff and pink pie for dessert.

I did do some Black Friday shopping and have decided that I want to save all of my gifts cards for Black Friday next year. I really need to get my Christmas shopping done, though. It’ll be here before we know it.

my cat likes to rub her head against the Actor’s hair so we had to put a pillow on his head.

It was a really good break and I hope the next two weeks of the quarter go by quickly. I got into the classes I wanted for Winter Quarter which makes me happy. I like the quarter system. 10 weeks is about all I can take of a class before I get tired of it. Three of my classes I wouldn’t mind being on a semester schedule, but the others I can’t wait to get out of.

As for my ED and body image I’m in about the same place that I was a few days ago. I’m missing my gym a lot and something tells me I’ll be there a lot these next two weeks. I figure it’ll be a good place to study. I’ll take my notes to read on a bike or something. My cat is snoring. I hope all you American readers had a great Thanksgiving and I hope the rest of you had a great weekend.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Break

Leave a Reply

