Life’s Too Short

In recovery you have to learn to let yourself indulge, no matter how many calories or how much fat or whatever it is you’re afraid of. Life is way too short to not eat whatever you want. But there is always that fear of gaining too much weight; of letting yourself go. You’re afraid, at least I am, of just going crazy. Taking the “life’s too short” thing for granted and just eating every dessert you see every chance you get. It’s also just not healthy to do that. It’s not good to just buy cookies because you saw them and thought, “There haven’t been cookies in the house for a while. I better buy these!” It’s not good to order a burger with bacon and cheese and bar-b-que sauce and steak fries just because you went out to eat that night and you went out to eat 3 days ago. It’s not good to eat only sugar and fat and salt, even though it is important to get over fear foods.

Something I really struggled with, and still do to an extent, was going from one way of eating to the next. I went from eating nothing to eating every treat I was offered. I had to learn how to take care of my body properly and eat right.

Life’s too short.

Exactly.

Life is too short to not nourish your body and be healthy. This is the one body you get. It’s the only one you’ve got, so why treat it so poorly?

Now, poorly doesn’t just mean eating poorly all the time. You do have to take care of it and feed it the foods it needs to run on like all those delicious fruits and vegetables, and getting all that good exercise, but it also means letting yourself indulge every now and then.

Right now I am training pretty hard. I do 45 minutes of strength training every day followed by at least 15 minutes of cardio. Since the fiancé is away it’s easier for me to eat what my body needs and what is healthy. I have little treats a few times a week, which is okay. And little can mean a couple of pieces of mini reeses cups, or a cup of fro-yo, or an ice cream sandwich, or a bag of fruit snacks. I am happy and every time I look in the mirror something has changed. I am starting to look more defined and am losing fat. I’ve only been at this for 3-4 weeks with a few slip-ups because of my trip to Montana (although I did run 3 miles in the mountains one day and swim for 2 hours another). It’s amazing.

The best part is that I am happy. I think I am finally getting to that balance between taking care of myself and indulging. The most important thing though, and the best thing though, is that I am happy. Life’s too short to not be happy!

9 thoughts on “Life’s Too Short

  1. This is one thing I’m struggling with. I go from extremes, really healthy or really “let myself go and eat whatever I want”. I need to get the balance right. Eating the latter has pushed me up over bmi 20, which is good, but now I know i need to eat more healthy things to take care of myself and repair damage done.
    You’re right, this is the only body we’re ever going to get so it’s important to take care of it.
    I’ve been wanting to take part in exercise too. It’s great to see you are doing so the healthy way.

    I always read your blog, but rarely comment, but you’ve really helped me. 🙂 x

    • Tara Stiles and Cassey Ho are my fave online exercise gurus if you’re interested. I’m glad I’ve helped. That’s one of my goals with this blog. 🙂 Balance is hard to learn. It took me over 2 years and I’m still not perfect at it.

  2. lifelaughfood says:

    Lovely post and I’m so glad you’re happier now! 🙂
    I think it’s very difficult finding the balance anyway, so after having an eating disorder you literally have to learn everything about food all over again!
    It’s great youve found a balance that your comfortable with, but make sure you give your body a little rest sometimes- hardcore exercise everyday can really wear out your body, and obviously it’s super good you’re well nourishing your body 🙂 xx

  3. recoveringanorexic says:

    The problem for me is that my body has functioned relatively well despite restricting my food. Therefore, I tell myself I am not really damaging my body as I can function. That is denial of course, especially given how unmotivated and tired I am all the time, but because I am not collapsing or being rushed to the hospital, I figure I am taking fine care of my body.

    • I get that, but I also hope that one day it doesn’t just collapse and you can’t do anything about it. When I was diagnosed they said I was at the point where my heart could just stop beating in the middle of the night without any warning.

  4. One thing I notice is that when my disorder kicks it into high gear, I cannot live in the moment. I am always thinking about how happy I will be when I lose enough weight, instead of enjoying the present. I’ve had entire years go by in a haze because of that. You are absolutely right that life is too short for that!

    • Wasting time wondering how happy you’ll be in the future instead of being happy now is just pointless, even though it happens and we can’t really control it.

Leave a Reply

