Disneyland!

For some reason we decided it would be a good idea to take the first flight out of Seatac to Orange County on Monday when we booked the trip. That meant getting up at 3 am so that we could be ready in time for my mom to take us to the airport on her way to work. I was, of course, very excited, and woke up at 2 but didn’t get up until 3. We were both very tired in the airport once we got through everything, though.

DSC04819DSC04820

We kept trying to sleep in weird positions on the seats since no one else for the flight showed up until about 20 minutes before it was time to board at 6:20 am. Once on the plane we fell asleep and Kyle slept for the entire flight and I slept for about half then the excitement took over.

DSC04825

We waited outside of John Wayne/Orange County airport for our Super Shuttle and the man there was nice enough to take our picture. We didn’t feel tired anymore, just excited! We passed our hotel once to drop someone else off and got even more excited. We had to get there as soon as possible! We were the next stop, though, and we checked in, left our bags at the bell desk since our room wasn’t ready at about 11am and made our way over to the parks.

DSC04741DSC04744

Disneyland was of course first.

DSC04835

We were really hungry, though so we ate at the new Jolly Holiday Bakery on Main Street right next to the entrance to Adventureland and had some tasty treats.

DSC04840DSC04841

I had a brownie complete with walnut pieces and chocolate chips and Kyle had a flourless chocolate cake which tasted a little like cheesecake because it was so smooth.

We went on Pirates of the Caribbean first, which had a fairly short line and Kyle was completely blown away by how amazing it all is. He’s been to Disneyland twice before whereas that was probably my 15th time and it never ceases to amaze me, but he looked like a little kid going there for the first time. It was cute. We got fast passes for Splash Mountain and rode the Haunted Mansion and Indiana Jones to pass the time. We practically walked onto Splash Mountain with our fast pass and got completely soaked. Thankfully it was time to go check in after that so we got to put on dry clothes.

DSC04844

The cute little beach ball pillows are $60 each if you decide to take one home, so we didn’t.

DSC04853

The brand new lands in California Adventure opened yesterday but the walls were mostly all down around Buena Vista Street while we were there which made me very happy. It looks beautiful. We got to see the Aladdin show at the Hyperion Theater in Hollywoodland in the front row so we got to see everything.

DSC04861

It was really great to see, especially because we thought they weren’t going to be showing it while we were there. We walked around the Animation building and rode a few of the rides there like the Monsters Inc. ride and the new Little Mermaid one in Paradise Pier before we went back over to Disneyland to get ready to see the fireworks. The line for the Tower of Terror was crazy long and I knew that on Tuesday we’d be able to get in early to ride Soarin’ and everything else, which we did. We were let in an hour early to get Fast Passes to see the World of Color that evening and rode Soarin’ then waited behind a rope at Hollywoodland until 10 am when it opened and we all walked with the crowd to the Tower of Terror.

DSC04903

The Magical fireworks show was truly magical and I am so glad that we got to see it. I took this photo after the show and we were walking to Tomorrowland to ride Star Tours 2.0 and Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters but we were to the left of the castle and all of the fireworks were behind the one tree that was in our way, but we still really enjoyed the show.

Day 2 was Magic Morning, which meant we got in an hour early, and got to ride Space Mountain, Star Tours 2.0, and the Finding Nemo Submarine Voyage all before the park opened. We ate breakfast at the Tomorrowland Terrace and then headed off to California Adventure to ride all of the things we missed the day before. My feet were killing me that day and after going on California Screamin’ we headed back to the hotel for a nice swim in the pool.

We went over to Disneyland after that to ride some of the dark rides in Fantasyland, Peter Pan’s Flight especially, and then wait in front of the castle for Mickey’s Soundsational Parade which was really fun to watch, but it was really hot, and the curb we sat on was not nice to my behind. When it was all over we headed to the Gibson Girl Ice Cream Parlor and I could not feel my butt. We were probably sitting on that curb for an hour, but it was worth every second of it. The parade was fantastic! I am

DSC04935really glad that we got to see it. The performers were so into it even if they weren’t face or head characters. They just loved dancing around and waving at the kids. The last float was a Mary Poppins themed one with Mary and Bert on merry-go-round horse/bike things in the front and a whole bunch of dancing chimney sweeps all over the place. There was one guy on the back of the float that was just having the time of his life.

We left for California Adventure after that and rode the Grizzly River Run before heading over to reserve our spots for the World of Color. I had seen it in December when I went with my mom and brother but it was still fantastic to see.

Day 3 was a very sad day because it was our last one. We rode everything we hadn’t yet that we had to except for Midway Mania and the Tiki Room and said goodbye to the resort with frowns on our faces.

DSC05002DSC05032DSC05054 

We did get to eat at the Carnation Café which opened that day. We had made reservations before we left as soon as Disney announced it would be opening on Wednesday and when we got there we were seated almost immediately. We always eat there when we go but now they have added indoor seating and completely changed the menu except for about two things. They had a wonderful veggie sandwich before which I absolutely loved, but it is gone now. They replaced it with something awesome, though.

The very first ever vegan burger on the entire resort, and I was told that it is the first of many more to come!

DSC05027DSC05030

We finished off our meal with a wonderful chocolate cake. I ate horribly on this trip but I enjoyed every minute of it. It was truly the best vacation of my life so far. We flew home on a late flight so we didn’t have to leave the parks until about 5 and we bought matching shirts: “I’ll be your Minnie” and “I’ll be your Mickey” and I got a pretty new World of Color jacket and new water bottle because my old one is plastic and makes my water taste funny. I also got a new piece of jewelry.

DSC04904

And a fiancée.

DSC04922

hssweethearts.wordpress.com

21 thoughts on “Disneyland!

  1. lifelaughfood says:

    Wow wow wow! It looks like you had such an amazing time and congratulations on getting engaged! :D. You so deserve to be happy…and the food you got looks great too- certainly not what I’d call eating terribly :P. Im sure your future will be filled with many more happy times like the past week 🙂 x

  2. livepassionatelytonight says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! Pretty much every girl’s dream; proposed to at Disney 🙂 Your trip looks awesome.

  3. I always love your Disneyland adventures and hearing about which rides you went on in which order because it reminds me of each time I visit my best friend in California…we ALWAYS go to Disneyland – usually a few times while I’m there – but my favourite part of this was the end! Congratulations lovely! Best wishes to you both!!! xo.

  4. First time I’ve commented on your blog, but I did screech at the bottom ‘WHAT! Yey!’ I am so happy for you and wish you all the best =)

  5. Awww congrats! You guys are cute together, especially in your matching shirts. I haven’t been to Disneyland since I was 3 but when I went to Disney World a few years ago, I remember riding Splash Mountain and it was probably one of my favorites, just because I got soaked!

    • I love Splash Mountain but this time I was terrified going on it. I should have gotten the picture they took because I looked ridiculous!

  6. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!

    I am literally jumping up and down right now! You guys are such a cute couple, congratulations! I had to read that line five times before I believed it. 🙂 Wedding dresses! EEEEEEK! You’ll make a stunning bride. Do you know when-ish you guys are planning on tying the knot?

    And I’m glad you had fun at Disney, I looooove Disney! And I’m glad you were able to enjoy the yummy food at Disney! 🙂

    • Your reaction is my favorite! Thank you so much. Next year. I’ll be putting up all the wedding information on our blog @ hssweethearts.wordpress.com
      I don’t know how you can’t enjoy the food at Disney. My ED never once bothered me there.

Leave a Reply

