By the Light of the Moon by Aja

My book went live on Amazon this weekend. 

http://www.amazon.com/By-Light-Moon-Aja-Torres/dp/1470048140/ref=sr_1_32?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1338696392&sr=1-32

I’m not asking you to buy it, but I am asking you to check it out. It’s the first thing I’ve published and I’ll admit there are formatting mistakes, like the fact that I forgot to add when the Preface ends, but I’m hoping it’s obvious, and I forgot to add a title page and a thank you page and an author’s bio, etc. Which is why I have started a new novel that I am going to try and get professionally published first, but if not I’ll self-publish through this again. The working title is “Giant Book” even though I am going to have to come up with something better. It’s a diary-style thing. But, more on that later. I made the cover art myself, not that it’s much to brag about. I took the picture on Mt. Rainier last summer and did some fun photoshop stuff to it. And, since I have so many wonderful followers, I’m going to give you a sneak look at my book since the stupid synopsis thing decided not to show up on Amazon. So, here you go:

 Preface

            “What do you mean?” I asked.

            He walked away from me shaking his head and waving his hands dismissively.

            “Where are you going?” I shouted. “You’re not leaving me, are you?”

            “I could never leave you,” he said. “You know that.”

            “Then why are you walking away?” I asked.

            He looked at me with a face I’d rarely seen. He looked like something in him was choking its way out and he was trying to hold it in.

            “Where are you going?” I asked.

            He just looked at me.

            “What’s wrong?”

            “You know I love you,” he said.

            “Of course I do.”

            “Then trust me.”

            “Darling, what’s wrong?”

            “Just trust me, Juliana, please,” he snapped. He grabbed my shoulders and stared directly into my eyes like he was seeing into my soul.

            “You’re scaring me,” I whispered.

            He held me a little while longer and then let go and turned back to the door. He sighed and leaned his arm against the frame. Outside the sun was setting and making way for the moon. I could feel myself waking up as the sunlight disappeared and the earth was covered in a silver glow. In the morning we would make sail and that would be the last night I spent in my room back home. I wanted it to be happy and special; something I could remember for a while. If anything I would remember how strange he was acting. Maybe one day he would tell me what was bothering him. I wished he would tell me then. I didn’t like when he looked like that; so closed off and secretive.

            I threw a little ray at him and it hit him square in the back but he didn’t turn around.

            “Will you please tell me what’s wrong?” I asked.

            He didn’t move.

            “What is it?”

            “Jules, just trust me.”

            “You know I trust you, but you’re scaring me. Please tell me what’s going on. Did Phillip say something? You know if it’s about the wedding I don’t care what your parents decide I just want to be married…”  

            “It’s not about the wedding,” he said.

            “Then what?”

            He was silent again.

            “Please.”

            “Get some sleep.”

            “Are you kidding?”

            “We’ve got a big trip tomorrow.”

            “I am not going to sleep.”

            “I love you, Jules. Please, just trust me,” he gave me a kiss and then walked out of the room. “I’ll see you in the morning. Get some sleep. Don’t worry about a thing,” he said before closing the door.

            “You know that’s not happening. Mason, I care about you. Please tell me what’s going on.”

            He gave me a little smile and blew me a kiss. “Everything is fine.”

            “Don’t lie to me,” I glared.

            He sighed. “I promise I’ll tell you in the morning.”

            “That’s not going to help me sleep tonight. I already can’t sleep at night. Why the heck would you even ask me to sleep at night? We don’t do that!”

            “We are not vampires, we can sleep at night,” he chuckled.

            “That doesn’t mean I want to.”

            “You’ll need the energy tomorrow.”

            “We’re going on a boat. How much energy am I going to need?” I asked.

            “Just sleep,” he said.

            I raised an eyebrow at him and cross my arms. He watched until he saw I was not going to get into bed and sighed again. He came into my room and picked me up and placed me in bed, tucking me in nice and tight and kissing my forehead. He sat down on the bed and stroked my hair. He looked so regal in the moonlight.

            “You’re beautiful,” he whispered.

            “Oh please,” I scoffed.

            He grinned and rubbed my cheek.

            “How am I supposed to sleep with you in here?” I asked.

            “You’ll have to hurry and figure that out since we’re getting married soon,” he smiled.

            I sighed. “I’ll never sleep again.”

            “Is it really that hard to sleep with me in here?” he asked.

            “No,” I smiled. “I just like being ridiculous.”

            “Well you do a good job.”

            “Hey!”

            He smiled again and gave me another kiss. He kept stroking my hair and cheeks in silence and studied my face with his eyes. I soaked up the moon’s glow and felt fresh. There was no way I was going to sleep easy. I couldn’t. There was too much on my mind along with the strange feelings I was getting from Mason.

            “You should really sleep,” he said.

            “Not happening. You need to tell me what’s going on. You’re not getting cold feet, are you?”

            “Of course not. I guess I was just thinking about what my parents have planned,” he said.

            “Oh god, I don’t want to know. Is it that bad?” I asked.

            He didn’t say a word. That was a bad sign.

            “At least it’s just one day,” I said.

            He didn’t respond.

            “It is just one day, right?” I asked.

            He smiled, “yes, it’s just one day.”

            “Good. I almost had a heart attack!”

            He laughed. “Now will you go to sleep?”

            “Maybe. Was that really so hard to tell me?”

            He smiled and gave me a kiss. “I just didn’t want to alarm you.”

            “You alarmed me by not telling me,” I said.

            He grinned. “Next time I’ll tell you.”

            “Thank you.”

            “Now will you sleep?”

            I gave him a smirk and shrugged. “I guess I could try to sleep now. If you’ll stay with me tonight.”

            He nodded and climbed into bed next to me. “I thought you said you can’t sleep with me?”

            “Only when you sit over me and stroke my hair. It’s much easier when you’re next to me. I think I can only sleep at night with you,” I said.

            He gave me one more kiss before saying he’ll see me in the morning and goodnight. I snuggled close to him and made sure I was nice and warm before settling into sleep. I loved him so much. It was going to be so nice to finally marry him. Even if I knew he was lying about what was bothering him. He would tell me eventually. For now I was out of danger and it didn’t really matter. I was just glad to be with him. 

So now you know where the preface ends. 🙂

On another note, I am in my last week of high school and it’s both exciting and I also feel like maybe I’m not really a senior and I still have more years of high school left. Thank goodness that’s not true!

Anyway, I’ve already had 3 people buy my book which is scary because I feel like it is terrible, but I feel that about everything I do. No matter what I write or draw or snap with a camera or whatever I feel like it’s not good enough. I think I always will. Eventually I just have to let it go and send it out there. Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “By the Light of the Moon by Aja

    • Oh my gosh thank you! I didn’t expect anyone other than family to really buy it! I would like to apologize in advance for the lack of a cover page and for my name being oddly too dark to read when when I built the cover it looked fine. I’m working on a new book that will hopefully make up for all of that. Haha. I guess I have some kind of postpartum depression over it. I hear it’s pretty common. All I can see is what’s wrong with it, but I hope you enjoy it!

  1. Congrats! I hope one day you can see yourself through the eyes of your loved ones… There is no need to talk yourself down like this! There is absolutely NO need for this 😉 you’re a lovely young girl with great ambitions! Good luck!!!

      • Me, too! Yeah, I wouldn’t have spend money on self-publishing, I just meant that no one really knows about/buys my book. I’m not really sure about how to promote it or how to get people to read it…hmm, life. 😛

      • I’ve only sold 6 copies so far, but I’m not too worried about trying to promote it very much. I got family and friends to buy it but that’s about it.

  2. What a wonderful way to finish off 2012 and start 2013 – Congratulations! Is this your NaNoWriMo novel? I am so happy for you and jealous at the same time. I have three unfinished novels that I lost momentum on. I think I’m still searching for my passion 😉

    • It’s my NaNoWriMo novel from 2011. I’m actually embarrassed that I published it. It’s my worst novel that I’ve written. Finishing a novel can be hard. I have a lot more unfinished ones than finished ones. Keep trying! “No subject is terrible if the story is true, if the prose is clean and honest and if it affirms grace and courage under pressure.” -Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

