Almost Over

I have been so stressed out this year I have forgotten what it feels like to be relaxed. I even forgot what it felt like to be stressed I was so stressed!

Well, on Wednesday we met our final deadline in Yearbook. It is over! It is done. All that is left is for our editor to go over the proofs. I already went over them, most of them twice and some of them three times, and fixed all grammatical and spelling and punctuation errors. It is very sad that these still exist at the end of Yearbook, but they are fixed so no worries. These people just will go out into the world unprepared and that is not my problem.

I had my very last Student Lead Conference on Wednesday, and it was as meaningless as they have been since elementary school.

“So, Mom, here are works I did in school that I’ve already told you all about. Oh, and my grades? A’s, as always.”

I have less than 30 days left to finish my AP Studio Art portfolio, and no worries there at all. I only have 4 more pieces for my concentration left to do which will take one or two more photoshoots, and I just need maybe 2 more amazing pieces for my breadth portfolio. And the good news is that it is finally sunny here! It’s been raining nonstop for the past 2 weeks and this is the second day that we have had sun and I love it. I will be taking long walks today enjoying the sun and getting my vitamin D.

I have 45 days left in my senior year. It is almost time for me to stop going to a horribly designed public school and start working and then go to college and keep working! Oh my goodness, my life is starting. I am no longer a child just living off of my mom. I’m about to start trying to make my own way in the world, and gosh is that thought scary. This isn’t exactly the best time to start, but it is certainly better than what it was a few years ago. There are more jobs now than there were last year, but a high school diploma means nothing and a BA is starting to mean nothing, too, and that is scary. I can’t afford to get my BA and I know I’m going to get out of college with a fair amount of debt that I’m going to spend the rest of my life paying off, so there is no way I’m going to get a masters. I’m getting my BA and that’s it unless I become wildly successful for some reason.

So, no more stress from Yearbook, but a fair amount of anxiety from the thought of the future. But I’m almost done with high school and I cannot wait!

4 thoughts on “Almost Over

  1. For some weird reason, I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off of my shoulders because you finished your yearbook responsibilities. I like to think it’s because I’m empathetic. But it’s probably because I like to make everything about me.

Leave a Reply

