Misleading Idea

162129655305332093_vDiOS2aI_c

I’m sure most of you have heard of the Beauty at Every Size idea that says models do not have to be super skinny and therefore women do not need to feel like they need to skinny either. It’s a good idea but it’s not that good of an idea. Your worth should not be based on whether or not you are skinny enough, which is something I struggle with since that is how my mind works.

I do not agree with this idea. Sure you may look good at your weight but it isn’t about looking good. I think that people should focus more on being healthy than looking good, and surprise, surprise, in turn you will look good. Getting to wear a smaller size is a benefit of being healthy. Feeling good is a benefit. These things come with taking proper care of yourself. Just saying that everyone is beautiful and should accept themselves at their size is not going help people in the long run.

There are people that are naturally thin, but are what is called “skinny fat”, which is a term I don’t necessarily approve of, but is still true. People that can eat whatever they want and not gain a pound are lucky, but not in the way you would think. Everyone would love to be able to eat whatever they want whenever they want without worrying about weight, but people really should be worrying more about their health. The number on the scale should be an afterthought compared to the number of muscle mass versus body fat and those cholesterol numbers that I don’t understand.

How you feel should be important as well. I feel horrible after eating any processed foods. After eating clean though, I feel like I can take on the world.

You may look nice overweight or underweight, but you’ll look and feel even better healthy. There is no real “beauty at every size”.

Thoughts?

By the way, I got into the honors college! Finally. I was so excited. I get to take exciting classes and some money off of my tuition!

And I apologize if this seems somewhat disjointed. I’m literally doing 5 things at once.

9 thoughts on “Misleading Idea

  1. Hi 🙂 This is why I don’t think Beauty at any size is what we are after, but HEALTH at every size. Because it’s not about your looks, or your size, really, it’s about being as healthy as you can be – eating well, moving, getting enough rest, engaging in enjoyable activities and hobbies, being social and enjoying it, etc. If you are truly embracing being healthy, you will glow, you WILL be beautiful, and whatever weight your body naturally gravitates to, is probably what you are meant to be and therefore look most beautiful at 🙂

  2. Congrats on honors college!

    Also, I tend to disagree in loving yourself at any size, because there is that whole “fat and proud” movement thing where people are proud to be obese, when in reality, they are very unhealthy. So yes, I think we need to encourage healthy at any size vs. beauty at any size.

  3. Congrats on getting into the honors college! I definitely agree that health should come first and people who are naturally thin but eat junk should be encouraged to eat better because I think healthier eating really benefits everyone, whether you need to lose weight or not.

Leave a Reply

