Beauty and the Beast in Seattle

that's the weirdest smile I've ever done.

I dressed up as close to Belle as I could yesterday morning and was so excited that I passed out into a nap after lunch which was good because the show ran until about 10:30 and I didn’t get to bed until midnight, and then sleep decided to stay away until about 1:30 in the morning. We had so much fun, though.

Why does his hair look funny?

We both got very dressed up for the occasion. We saw a mix of people there in age and in dress. The little girls were wearing their Belle costumes and some teenagers were in jeans and beanies and the older folk were in their best.

Beautiful

I have been to the Paramount Theatre before with my best friend back in the 9th grade for a concert but I had forgotten just how beautiful the place is! Kyle and I stood at this balcony type thing looking down at the first floor and thinking about what it must have been like to come to this place at the height of theatre all dressed up to enjoy a great show. There is such a magical quality to performances that people seem to have forgotten exists. It’s so thrilling and magical to think that they can accomplish all of the crazy things they do.

the stage is WAY down there.

They did amazing work with the set and I was very impressed with the puppetry they used for the wolf attacks. The music was absolutely beautiful, as always. Beauty and the Beast has my favorite score. They gave more depth to Babette, the feather duster, and the dresser in Belle’s room. They added more of a fear element to the story by making all of the enchanted objects actually turn into the objects completely over time, leaving any bit of their human-ness completely behind. It made it more risky. The Beast was given a lot more depth, too, which we loved. You see more of him and his feelings; more of his side of the story. Lefou was very much the slapstick comic relief character and was quite the acrobat. He’d get punched and would fall over and flip right back up.

“Be Our Guest” was the best musical number, though they did some impressive stuff in “Gaston”. Lumiere was hilarious and had the best French accent. I wish I had audio recordings of some of his lines because they were delivered so perfectly. I laughed so much!

The transformation scene was one of the best animated scenes in movie history and the stage version was also just as incredible. I am still trying to figure out how they did it. Our seats were the second to last row in the very top back so we did not get to see very much expression wise but we got a lot of the humor and sad scenes. We joked we should have brought binoculars. Probably should have, but we still enjoyed it all very much.

They had added about 4 new songs and my favorite, even though I have “Home” and “If I Can’t Love Her” stuck in my head, is “Me”, Gaston’s proposal song:

Best thing ever

Overall the show was incredible and we loved every minute of it even though we could barely see. We’ll have to go see it again sometime with a better view. Now I will have “Me” stuck in my head all night.

What Disney Broadway show do you most want to see? Now that I’ve seen Beauty and the Beast I want to see either Mary Poppins or The Little Mermaid. I love Julie Andrews, I don’t think I could get used to someone else singing her songs.

5 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast in Seattle

  1. What a fun occasion to get all dressed up for!! I love beauty and the beast. Belle is my favorite Princess!! I saw Mary Poppins and I would definitely recommend it. My personal favorite is Mamma Mia!

Leave a Reply

