It’s Okay to be Taken Care of

Not to be confused with It’s Okay to Make Mistakes, even though it is.

I have had a nasty cold for a while now. Yesterday, I went home from school halfway through the day feeling completely miserable and looking awful. I have never gone home early from school before so I felt really bad about it. I should have just stayed and stuck it out,  I kept telling myself, but to be completely honest I couldn’t keep my eyes open for more than a few seconds before they would start watering, my nose was running like crazy and none of the classrooms I was in had tissue boxes, I was tired and my eyes were super red. I was not going to get anything accomplished if I stayed. So I texted my mom who actually let me go home instead of telling me to just stick it out like she usually does and picked me up after yearbook.

I went home and took a nap and realized that it was completely okay for me to go home. Even today in the classes I’d missed yesterday I realized I got along just fine. I missed my Lit/English teacher reading possibly my favorite chapter in The Things They Carried but I’ve heard all of the analysis before and I’ve read it several times, and I finished 5 pictures today in AP Art. Missing one day did not kill me and it never will. At least, not in high school. We don’t really do a lot of learning there, so I don’t think missing a week would hurt either.

Even though my boyfriend is at college he still took the time to text me and Skype and keep his phone near him last night when I had trouble sleeping because it is hard to sleep when you can’t breathe like a normal person. When I had my wisdom teeth out he came over to my house and got me my food when I was hungry and sat through about half of the first season of Pretty Little Liars that he bought me for Christmas with me. Over the weekend when I had my sore throat (which is how all my colds start) he got me water and cough drops even though I insisted I didn’t need them (even though it was very nice to have them) and even offered to make me tomato soup even though he’s never made soup before.

I’ve been taking care of myself for years. My mom would take care of me when I was sick if she was home from work and not terribly busy. Otherwise I would be lying in bed watching tv and getting my own water and juice and food when she was at work because my dad couldn’t be bothered. It’s weird letting my boyfriend get me things. I’ll say I want something and he will jump up and get it. But that’s completely okay, and I’m starting to like it. Having someone take care of me for a change is really, really nice.

I just have to get used to it and stop thinking he’d rather not be getting things for me. If he didn’t want to, I don’t think he would.

Anything you’ve realized is okay lately?

5 thoughts on “It’s Okay to be Taken Care of

  1. I know how you feel about your boyfriend. I felt the same way about my husband when we first started dating. I was really used to being the one who took care of everything, and it was hard for me to let go of some of that control. Now, he probably wishes I didn’t 😉
    I have learned that it’s okay to invite people over to our house even though we have no floor right now.

  2. You boyfriend sounds so sweet 🙂 Missing classes sucks, but I’m always so relieved when I decide to stay home when I’m sick. It’s worth it!

  3. xjustanotherteenblogger says:

    Aw your boyfriend sounds so sweet! I wish I had someone to help me when I feel like I’m dying from the cold, everyone in my house either works or goes to school though and my boyfriend lives in a different country 😦

    In December I started working full time for my grandparents at the catering business that they own. I went in knowing basically nothing so I would muddle through and hope that I did alright. Now I’ve realized that its okay to ask if I don’t know how to do something because the end result will be a lot better :] ever since I realized that I’ve learned more than I have in a long time.

Leave a Reply

