No Longer Wise

Not that I ever was, mind you. Well, it’s that time in my life. I have to get my wisdom teeth removed. Whoopdido. Back in June my jaw started hurting on the right side but it would come and go taking weeks off in between. In the middle of December it started hurting more and longer. I only take pain pills when Mother Nature decides it’s time for a gift because if I don’t I pass out it’s that bad. Otherwise I just deal with it, but this was actually causing me to take ibuprofen. I finally complained about it enough to get my mom to call the dentist to have it looked at. I was pretty sure it was my wisdom teeth but we had to make sure and then I would be able to get the ball rolling to get those things out.

Why the heck do they even call them “wisdom teeth”? The reason for them had nothing to do with wisdom and you are in no way wise at 18. Well, maybe you are but I know that I’m not.

I got the scary panoramic x-ray where the thing spins around your head while you wear the heavy jacket thing and bite on a stick. My top teeth are growing straight and are just below the gums so those should be easy to remove. My bottoms are literally right under my gums but slightly impacted because I have a tiny jaw so only part of it comes through. They told me my jaw was hurting because they were trying to grow in and it was no hurry to get them out, but the pain wouldn’t go away until I got them removed.

Apparently they aren’t bad enough for me to be put under so lucky me, I get to stay awake during the procedure. Besides, for some reason wisdom teeth extraction is crazy expensive (this is the start of an expensive 4 years for my family. Eep!) and being put under will only make the cost go up. So like it or not, anxiety attack or not (which I’ve been getting quite frequently over school and college and money) I will stay away and get to hear them and feel them push the needle into my mouth for the local anesthesia, the cutting of the gum and removal of any bit of jaw bone in the way, the breaking (if any) of the teeth to be removed, and the removal. So not excited. I suppose the sooner I get it over with the better.

I am terrified of being put under but I also don’t like the idea of getting to hear and still feel it. The pain is numbed but you still feel the instruments and movement. I had 4 permanent teeth pulled back in middle school because I have a tiny mouth and there just wasn’t enough room for all of my teeth. They weren’t canines so it was a little easier and healed faster, but I was awake for that, too, so I have some experience with teeth extraction without being put out. I don’t want to be put out, though. Don’t have a choice, so  I don’t have to worry. I’ll probably bring my iPod and blast the thing the whole time. Maybe I’ll take my brother’s old iTouch and watch a movie on it.

I do have to admit that I am terrified, though. I know it’s not a big deal and most people get their wisdom teeth pulled, but I am still scared out of my mind. I hope I can get it done soon so I don’t have to worry about it anymore. 

3 thoughts on “No Longer Wise

  1. Kit-Kat says:

    I’m sorry you are scared. I had one of my wisdom teeth taken out (only two of my teeth formed, the other one I’m keeping for now). I was not put under, and the tooth did have to be broken, but it was no big deal. Just think how lucky we are to have an advancement in anesthesia! In the old days, it was just YANK or leave it and rot. Eek. Yuck-o. I don’t like going to the dentist, but at least I know my dentists, and they are friendly and nice to me.

Leave a Reply

