Sound Yearbook Camp

I am back from Yearbook Camp and oh my gosh, it was insane! I got there on Wednesday at 8:30 in morning meaning I got up at 7 during the summer. Eep! After that we had hours upon hours of crash courses in design, layout, copy, interviewing, and the program we will be using called Adobe InDesign. Since I work with Photoshop all the time, it was pretty easy to figure how to use it. I actually far enough to design the cover. It’s still a work in progress, but hey, I made it! Bed time was at 11 pm, but my group went to bed early. That didn’t make a difference, however. At 11 pm someone came down the hall pounding on the doors shouting, “ROOM CHECK!” and they didn’t take no response to mean we’re asleep and they should go away. I had to answer the door while my roommate was sound asleep. The next day started bright and early with breakfast at 7 and more classes and closed at 12 when the Deadline Dance ended. I went to bed early again, but even though I put up a sign, they still knocked on the door. I went home by 11 am the next day. It was great to get a crash course in yearbook, though. I’m really excited. We won best theme statement and I think it might still be our theme when September rolls around and we really start working on building it. 261603_10150236786261267_259250791266_7413309_5312735_n

That’s the only picture of us working. I’m in the orange.

259799_10150236787146267_259250791266_7413331_4095744_nEveryone. I’m on the right corner, second row from the top, second to last.

When I got home I hung out with my boyfriend and today I saw Selena Gomez’s new movie Monte Carlo and I loved it. I liked how much Mika was in the soundtrack, too. Part of the movie I couldn’t enjoy because I kept wondering about another part of it but I bet it would be able to enjoy that part of it more if I were to see it again. It’s definitely going to be one to add to my movie shelf when it comes out. Also, it was not copying the Lizzie movie (I can’t remember how to spell her last name). They were quite different.

Now that I am home, I get to get back into working out for a whole week and then I’m going on vacation with the boyfriend and his family. I am really excited, but also kind of annoyed. That sounds funny, but if you follow me on Twitter you know that my time at camp was kind of filled with a relapse. I was away from anyone I’m close with and surrounded by campus food. I was really excited to see a salad and fruit bar, but their fruit tasted really funny and the first day all I ate was fruit and salad. I had a Boca burger for dinner and even though I was wearing mock-converse, I wanted to go running around campus. By the second day I didn’t want anything but I took more fruit and a thing of granola and the worst tasting hot cocoa I’ve ever had. I threw most of it out. We were given chocolate after our InDesign class and I was so hungry that I took a handful, but afterward wanted to run to a bathroom and purge it all. Even now that I’m home I want to exercise over and over again and purge my food. I almost did after dinner last night, but I stopped myself. That wouldn’t be helpful at all, but I felt like it would be. I’m concerned about how I’ll do when I start college next fall. I wonder if I will become bulimic or if I’ll go back to being full on anorexic. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see how things go, but I do worry. If three days at college are enough to take me back a few months, what will a whole year do? What will 4 years do? So I guess I’m annoyed because I’ll be going a full week without being able to run or do my pilates. I think we’ll be swimming a lot, and if that is the case it’s going to be day after day of hard core lap swimming. I don’t like where I am now, and I hope I can stop worrying about my body again, but I don’t know. I kept looking in the mirror when no one was in the bathroom at camp and examining my stomach to see if I’d gained any weight. While we were working on our proposal project I kept tapping my foot to burn extra calories. I’m surprised I was able to focus long enough on the project to design a cover and help come up with the theme (okay, it was my idea). Even as I sit here my thoughts are screaming at me to go exercise. I can’t run until Monday but I want to just lace up my shoes and run until I want to fall over. I guess I wasn’t as recovered as I though I was…

5 thoughts on “Sound Yearbook Camp

  1. Hey girl, trust me I feel where you’re coming from. Shoot me an email if you ever want to talk to someone who’s gone through some similar stuff. Not ready to write about it on my blog just yet… but would be more than willing to chat about it!

  2. Hey, I’m glad you had fun at yearbook camp, it sounds super fun! I wish we had more things like that here. Anyway, this statement

    “I’m concerned about how I’ll do when I start college next fall. I wonder if I will become bulimic or if I’ll go back to being full on anorexic. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see how things go, but I do worry.”

    got me thinking. If three days gave you the insight in to what college will be like, maybe now would be a good time to get the ball rolling and give yourself some coping mechanisms for when you do get to college. Like start a plan, for example, if breakfast is inedible, you have a back up meal in your bag/dorm. even if it’s a cliff bar and a banana. Or get in touch with the college before you go, all uni’s over here have student support/guidance and offer free counselling sessions, maybe it’d be good to get them in place before you go, should you need them? Just a few ideas, but it’d be sad to see you slip after doing so well.

  3. Girl please don’t give up on your progress! I know eating again is hard, particularly if there are all these fear foods around and nothing else available. But what I’ve found helps is the “slow but steady ” method. Slowly overcome your fears – don’t try to tackle everything at once.

    What I’ve found in situations like these it’s good to have back up plans/food etc. If you don’t feel up to eating what’s served pack your own nuts, cereal, crackers, fruit – whatever you can. Then you can use that to “fill in the gaps” so you’re not left feeling starving or too overwhelmed with new strange foods.

    I believe that you will find a balance and something that works for you – as long as you don’t give up and keep pushing forward no matter what. Take care girl!

  4. Hi there! I came here b/c your comments on my cat, Ellie’s blog, always crack me up. So I came by to say hi. I’m sorry that you are struggling and had a setback. Perhaps not a relapse? Sometimes progress is still progress even if you are going two steps forward and one step back.

    Although I have not had an eating disorder in the classic sense, I totally agree with peanutbutternutter and think it’s very very smart to get your systems in place before you get to college. Then there won’t be as many surprises or you’ll be able to handle them better. Great idea to stock up on good foods that you enjoy and keep them with you (even in your purse) or dorm- foods that promote your recovery. I hope that makes some sense? That’s how people trying to lose weight handle things as much as possible: try to pre-plan and come prepared. I wish you all the best!

    And Ellie is grateful for your comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

